Home > Israel > A Rough Couple of Weeks

A Rough Couple of Weeks

I’ve had a rough couple of weeks.  I guess the honeymoon is over.  I’m dealing with feelings of doubt and homesickness.  I had a huge emotional crash after Sukkot.   Thankfully, the last couple of days have been much better.

I’m told that this is “normal”.  It happens to everyone — especially Americans. Even though I was told to expect it, I didn’t really think it would happen to me. I guess I’m more normal than I realized.

It is a very pleasant 90 degrees with a nice breeze.  It is also the middle of October.  That makes me happy!

I started looking for work. Part of my doubts are financial.  Things are very expensive in Israel — including real estate. While real estate prices in the States have been tanking over the last few years, housing prices here in Israel have doubled.  The falling value of our US dollars just makes the problem worse.  Over the long term, I think the US dollar (and the Euro) are heading much further down. My outlook is very gloom and doom. I feel sad about what is happening to my homeland. The United States is the greatest country that has ever existed, but I really believe that her best days have already come and gone. I hope it will be a slow collapse, but I fear that it might be faster than people can imagine. Obama didn’t do it, he’s just the finisher — the closer — the destroyer. It is just a matter of time before Japan, Europe, and the US collapse under a mountain of fiat debt. I have a suspicion about who will get blamed. So, I’m glad to be here, but the doubts linger.

I had an interview last week. Actually, I didn’t have an interview last week. I thought I was having an interview, but I really wasn’t. This is all a good thing, because after the interview I thought I didn’t want the job, but now that I know it wasn’t an interview, I think I do want the job. Because Shabbot is approaching, I don’t have time to explain.  Stay tuned….

Categories: Israel Tags: , ,
  1. janice e. nelson
    2010-10-15 at 5:47 pm

    I had a feeling that you were undergoing this normal transistion to a new country, with a new language, customs, lifestile, etc. when I didn’t see any updated posts on facebook for a while. Even though this is all normal, remember, you can always come back to the USA should you eventually choose to do so. Though we have our own style of turmoil here, we are still alive and kicking, and I don’t beleive that our country will give in to a total collapse of any kind. We have felt the exhileration of freedom, and will never go back to anything else with or without a fight.

    Israel has suffered the same woes in different ways, but they also know now what it is like to be free. It is a country that I respect. However, none of this means that you can’t change your mind and return. What is most important in the end is the happiness and well being of your family whatever road you must follow to protect it.

    • 2010-10-16 at 9:36 pm

      None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.

      • janice e. nelson
        2010-10-17 at 1:27 am

        Very interesting. Would you care to elaborate?

      • 2010-10-17 at 2:25 pm

        It is one of my favorite quotes — it is just a beautiful, simple, and deep statement from Geothe.

        I think you know exactly what it means, you just don’t see it… and that’s the point.

        Here’s another great quote from John Hay: “The evils of tyranny are rarely seen but by him who resists it.”

        I _know_ I’m not free. I wasn’t free in America and I’m certainly not free now. Most modern Americans don’t really understand the concept. They like to say they live in “the land of the free,” but really they are afraid to be free.

        That’s my elaboration. 🙂

  2. connie
    2010-10-15 at 10:11 pm

    I think what probably happens is there is a real big high, especially at the time of the Yomim Tovim. Then there’s the bareness of Cheshvan. Cheshvan is always depressing but just remember it sill has 4 special days (4 Shabbosim). At least the weather is warm, the days are sunny, the leaves are on the trees. You could be in the Maryland and have the dreary cold rain and watch the leaves dying and falling off the trees and look at all the grayness around you. You could also be in Maryland and have to hear the rhetoric of how O’Malley is now ahead of Ehrlich and have to look at all the political signs in Columbia supporting all the libs. So just remember, in reality, it’s more depressing here than in Israel. So now you can smile 🙂

    • 2010-10-16 at 9:42 pm

      We had Corey and friends over for Shabbat. I had to pick them up erev Shabbat and take them back after Shabbat. They live in Jerusalem. Every time I go there, I am so awe inspired and dumbfounded that I can actually _drive_ to Jerusalem. I had a really nice Shabbat and I’m feeling much better now, thank you very much 😉

  3. janice e. nelson
    2010-10-17 at 2:59 pm

    It has been a long time since I read Goethe’s “Faust” Perhaps, I should pull it out of my bookcase and read it again this winter. Yes, I do understand the quote, and I do get it, but I wanted to hear your take on it. We all will have our own version of understanding of that quote. Also, I love John Hay’s words. If someone were to ask me what I treasured most (other than my family), I would quickly reply that it was my freedom. I understand that we are not really free in society, and even if there was complete freedom in government, we would most likely enslave ourselves to some concept or material thing. I guess that Shelley’s quote from “Hymn to Intellectual Beauty” is my favorite. “And they know that never joy illumed my brow, Unlinked with hope that thou wouldst free, this world from its dark slavery, That thou–O awful Lovliness would give whate’er these words cannot express.” Did Shelley’s poetry enslave him or did he free the unspoken words?

    • 2010-10-17 at 3:30 pm

      I need to learn to remember that you actually are a deep thinker. 😉

  4. shana
    2010-10-18 at 11:01 am

    Akiva, hang in there, this too shall pass. I’ve been there and it is not a fun place. Although I was in a different stage of life to you guys, I still panicked, was depressed and in the end I went home. Best decision I made. Why? because the moment I landed back in the UK I knew that I had made a mistake and that I should never have left. It took me 10 months to regroup and get myself together, but once I returned to Israel, I was 100% committed & have been here ever since.

    Unlike me, you don’t have the luxury of shlepping backwards and forwards. So just know that it’s a roller coaster ride here. Good days, bad days and really awful days!

    Meanwhile, send me your CV.
    take care. Yihehe B’seder

    • 2010-10-19 at 1:27 pm

      Thanks for the nice words. I’ll send it in a moment.

      • janice e. nelson
        2010-10-19 at 2:04 pm

        I think that once you are employed, you will feel better about yourself and your chosen country. One of the biggest stressors in life is moving and I can only imagine the challenge of adjusting to a new country and culture. I am happy that your friend asked you for your CV.How caring of him. That is a start. How are you Hebrew classes coming along? How is Wendy and the children adjusting to their new life?

  5. archadeckaustin
    2010-10-28 at 6:56 pm

    Akiva, I forgot to comment on this post since I was riding in a car when I first read it. Whenever I call my mom because I am really down she almost always tells me the same thing – go volunteer. At first blush, this seems like a non-caring thing to say but her follow-up statement makes it understandable. “When we volunteer for those who are less fortunate, we realize how fortunate we are and both our happiness and their happiness multiplies and heals”. Only once was this advice exchanged for “why don’t you go out and treat yourself to some good food – but nothing fattening”. Two of the best and hardest experiences of my life came out of this. I took on a little sister for a couple years and somewhat taught a man to read – at least I tried. All these years later I can’t remember what I was sad about but I remember the joy that came out of taking her advice. Anyway, you can see why I no longer call my Mom when I’m depressed. I either get over it or go volunteer. Love you mom!

    • 2010-10-28 at 7:12 pm

      Really nice words of wisdom.

      • janice e. nelson
        2010-10-29 at 3:58 pm

        I chucled a bit when I read some of the advice that I think your mom gave to you, because I said some similar things to my daugher Robin once. She was down so I told her to go out and get something good to eat. She liked that idea and said she would get a grinder. I told her that was too fattening. Then I told her to go out and help someone else which comes back to me often if I allow Robin to know that I am sad. All in all,I do believe that giving of oneself to another is the best way to get out of yourself, especially when you see the Light in someone else’s eyes once you lift them up. One hand extended to another and another to another – – – . The world could be saved that way.

  6. 2010-10-28 at 11:35 pm

    ah, I see I was writing when I was logged into my client’s account. The volunteering comments were mine. This is Wendy’s cousin Robin:)

    • 2010-10-28 at 11:47 pm

      I was wondering about that. Actually, I still am wondering about the account that you are using now: “Kemo Werner Outdoor Lighting Phoenix”? 😉

  7. 2010-10-29 at 2:47 pm

    Yeah, in my new job, I use WordPress to blog for 10 different businesses around the country. I always forget which one I’m logged in as. I especially like this most recent client because he has a great last name:) So, can you see my mother giving that advice?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

