Home > Israel > Kohav Ya’ir

Kohav Ya’ir

We had a change in plans on eruv Yom Kippur. My son had spent the night at a friend’s house and we were planning on picking him up. However, he called and asked if he could stay with his friend over Yom Kippur. We agreed, so we had to pick him up this afternoon.

However, the first thing each weekday is uplan. To the best of my knowledge, Israel is the only country in the world that actually knows how to start and end each week properly. Sunday is the first day of the week and Saturday is the last, so in Israel, the work days start on Sunday and the weekends are Friday and Saturday.

Anyway, today in ulpan (among other things), I learned how to ask about birthdays.

בן כמה אתה? אני חושב שאני בן ארבעימ וחמש.

That should translate to “How old are you? I think that I am forty-five”, but the literal word-for-word translation is strange: “Boy how much you? I think that I boy forty-five.”

Sixth grade cross guards

Enough Hebrew for now. After ulpan, I picked my daughter up from school. They put the 6th graders to work here in Ra’anana as cross guards at the intersections. They do a great job in the morning, but the afternoon shift can get a bid hot and boring.

I wanted to take some pictures of my daughter’s school, but the armed guard at the gate was not happy about photographs being taken. I can shoot with my camera and he can shoot with his sidearm, so I did a quick mental trade-off analysis and determined that the best option was to take no more photographs. As a result, I only have one distant photo from the school’s outer fence.

The Ariel Elementary School

This is part of the walk home.

Part of the walk from school to home

The trip to pick up my son was uneventful, but still a bit interesting. His friend lives in Kohav Ya’ir which is a small town to the north-east next to the West Bank. Since we are newbies in Israel, we were specifically told to avoid the shortest drive through the town of Tira, since it is primarily an Arab town.

Instead, we took a route that was only about 10 minutes longer. Along the way, we had a nice view of the city of Qalqilya which is definitely a primarily Moslem town. I know because I could not count all the minarets — there were just too many. Later, I looked the town up on Google maps and determined that it is in the so-called West Bank. The photo is terrible; there must have been at least 30 minarets that I could see from the road, but most of them cannot be easily seen in the photograph.

Minarets in Qalqilya

Kohav Ya’ir is a really nice, quiet town. Here are some photos of the drive through the town. Try to ignore all of the dirt on the windshield.

Categories: Israel Tags: , ,
  1. Marcia Gross
    2010-09-20 at 4:25 am

    Hi Rob,

    We’re really enjoying your blog. I always thought of the way in which age is given as sort of saying, you have been a boy (or a girl) for this many years. The other one that I like is the idiom for saying how are you. I don’t have Hebrew letters but it’s Mah shlomecha. Which means how peaceful are you?

    Anyway, interesting language. Wish I was learning it, too.

    Marcia

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

