Home > Uncategorized > Eruv Rosh HaShana

Eruv Rosh HaShana

Today is eruv Rosh HaShana, meaning the Jewish new year starts tonight at sundown.  Rosh HaShana is a two-day holiday and this year it leads into Shabbat. This is the only scenario for a three-day holiday for those living in Israel. It is a bit odd that our first holiday is a three-day holiday.

Things are still moving at a very fast pace, so it is hard to keep up and difficult to blog. Too much to do. Since I need to get ready for the holiday, this is all I’m going to write for now.  I’ll be back after Shabbat.

Happy New Year!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. shmuel gross
    2010-09-13 at 12:14 pm

    Reading your dialog reminds me of every time I have felt overwhelmed in some course that I took in my 10 years of college experience. I am smart, but nearly as smart as the guy to my right or left who smerks at the course sylabus as if it was already common knowledge. Then the instructor says, well, we will skip this or that part because everybody knows it already. So it is with studying language when others have been in country for? months or year or maybe they had a previous background in school, etc. Anyway, Marcia and I are starting to learn hebrew againwith Rosetta Stone. Yonit is getting married in Israel on Log Bomer next May. Your family will be there. The Chassen speaks Hebrew, Russian and English. His parents are Russian and speak Hebrew but not English. So, can’t we learn Hebrew? I expect to learn the basics and go from there. I know you have to be on the ground to really get any fluency. Ok, work on the verbs, but what I really need to know is where is the toilet. In hebrew of course.

    I will keep in touch: Shmuel

  2. 2010-09-13 at 1:39 pm

    Hey, nice to hear from you. The cat made it and is back to normal (she was acting weird for a while). I’m happy for Yonit. Thanks for the invite. The ulpan is really intense. I think I really am at a level that is too high, but I’m clinging along. I’ll wait it out for a bit longer and see if I can catch up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

