Home > Pre-aliya > Ten More Days

Ten More Days

In 10 days we’ll be leaving the Western Hemisphere. Wow! It is starting to feel a little crazy. I have not really been able to prepare myself mentally; I’m to busy preparing physically because we still have too much stuff. Even though we sold, trashed, donated, or shipped almost all of our possessions, we still have more! All these remaining things need to be either sold, trashed, donated, or carried with us on the plane.

This seems like a fractal problem. As we de-clutter and “zoom in” on our flight date, we still have the same problem of too much stuff. I’m really hopeful that we can whittle away at it until the remaining items can actually fit with us on the plane.

The amazing Adam Bomb!

Since selling the house, I’ve been trying to get rid of more things. Last week I sold my vintage, vinyl record collection. It was lost and virtually forgotten in the basement for years until we started packing for the move. Where do you find a “brick and mortar” store that buys vinyl records? Record & Tape Traders in Towson, Maryland. I didn’t think stores like this existed anymore. Twenty years ago, before Al Gore’s amazing internet, every small town in America had at least one store like this. I know because I went to college in Terra Haute, Indiana. Terra Haute is the sixth largest city in Indiana and it still qualifies as a small town. It’s really quite nice, as long as you can ignore the wondrous sulfur smells from the various chemical processing plants. Anyway, Terre Haute has Headstone Friends and Towson has Record and Tape Traders.

So, I sold my records. I was a disc jokey at the college radio station and I used much of my own collection. I had some really amazing classics… like Adam Bomb’s solo album. Awesome, don’t you think? If you’ve been looking for a vinyl copy of it, now you know where to go.

I also tried to sell my vintage collection of collectible football cards. Vintage all the way back to the early 1990s. Why do I have such an awesome collection? Because I had a buddy who collected sports cards and he convinced me that it was a great long-term money-making venture. I’m pretty sure that the sports card collectible craze peaked in the year 1991 — that’s the bulk of my collection! That’s the year that hoards of people bought collectible sports cards (without bubble gum) thinking that in twenty years their $100 card investment would be worth six-figures. Anyway, here I am twenty years later and no one is interested in sports cards from 1991. It’s just like money, if you print to much, it becomes worthless. Luckily, back in 1992, my wife told me something like, “Why are you wasting our money on those things!” and, at least that time, I listened.

This RAV4 is awesome!

On Friday I sold my silver, 2008, V6, Toyota RAV4 Limited. I love this car. It goes when and where I need it to go and, more importantly, it stops when I need it to stop. Toyota should build all their cars like this one. I really, really, really like this car. Anyway, I sold it. It’s gone. I’m now homeless, jobless, and car-less.

The tooth that wasn't

Even my son is working on getting rid of things; on Thursday, he had a “baby” tooth extracted to make room for an adult molar. It’s so nice having everyone involved in the common goal of getting rid of things.

One final thought. If everyone recycled as much as we have been, the world would be full of… well… full of a lot more recycled garbage.

That's a lot of recycling!

Categories: Pre-aliya
  1. AF
    2010-08-08 at 3:27 am

    I took my record collection to the same place. After all was said and done, I had enough money to get one Beatles CD. I really wish I had taken more time to put the records on tape, back when I had a stereo and could do such things. Then again, our stereo here does not have a tape player either.

  2. LJC
    2010-08-09 at 3:42 pm

    You lamented “”I’m now homeless, jobless, and car-less.”

    Ah, but you have your health!!!

    • 2010-08-09 at 9:09 pm

      That is true. I have my health, family, happiness, and liberty, so I’m doing okay 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

